Doug Hilton-Achievements

Doug Hilton-Achievements


2016 Officer of the Order of Australia

2013 Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence in Biomedical Research

2012 Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor to Young Researchers

2012 Lemberg Medal, Australian Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

2011 Research Australia Leadership and Innovation Award

2011 Milstein Award, International Society of Interferon and Cytokine Research

2010 Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

2004 Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science

2003 Glaxo Smith Kline Australia Award for Research Excellence

2001 Inaugural Commonwealth Health Minister's Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research

1998 Gottschalk Medal, Australian Academy of Science

1991-93 Lucille P. Markey Visiting Fellowship

Grants and funding

2012-16 Program Grant 1016647: Molecular regulation of blood cell production and function, National Health and Medical Research Council

2011-18 Stem Cells Australia (with 8 participating organisations), Australian Research Council.

2011-15 ROI-CA-22556: Differentiation of granulocytes and macrophages, US National Institutes of Health

2010-16 Target Discovery Program, CSL Ltd

2007-14 The HEARing Co-operative Research Centre, with 26 participating organisations

Service to the community

President elect, Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI)

Member of:

  • Board, Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre

  • Consultative Council, Victorian Cancer Agency

  • Board, AAMRI

  • Council, EMBL Australia

  • Academic Board, The University of Melbourne

  • Medical Research Advisory Committee, Australian Cancer Research Foundation

  • Scientific Advisory Committee, Children’s Cancer Institute Australia

  • Scientific Advisory Board, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute

  • Research Committee, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute

  • Research Committee, The Hermon Slade Foundation

  • Advisory Board, Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine

  • Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) Action Group