Australian immunology pioneer Jacques Miller wins Lasker Award

10 September 2019
Emeritus Professor Jacques Miller AC from Melbourne’s Walter and Eliza Hall Institute has won a Lasker Award, one of the highest international honours in medical research.
Professor Jacques Miller smiling
Professor Jacques Miller is the joint recipient of the 
2019 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award.

Professor Miller was joint recipient of the 2019 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award with Professor Max Cooper of Emory University, US. They received the award for identifying immune cells called T and B cells, which have critical roles in our immune system.

The impact of this discovery on modern medicine is immense, and underpins many important innovations including vaccine development, organ transplants, identifying and treating autoimmune diseases and immunotherapy to treat cancer.

A seminal discovery

Jacques Miller in the lab in the 1960s


Professor Jacques Miller working in the lab in the 1960s, 
when he made his groundbreaking discovery of B cells 
and T cells, and how they work together to protect the
body against infection. 

Professor Miller and Professor Cooper’s research in the 1960s investigated the functioning of the immune system, which protects us from infections. At the time, how the ‘adaptive’ immune system generates specific and long-lasting immune responses was still largely a mystery.

The research began with Professor Miller’s remarkable discovery of the immune function of the thymus in 1961, while a student at the Institute of Cancer Research, London. In 1966 he joined the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute and, two years later, published the seminal discovery of T cells and B cells.

Professor Miller said his laboratory identified the two types of immune cells and how they worked together during specific immune responses.

“Working separately, both Max Cooper’s and my laboratory simultaneously identified T cells, which are produced in the thymus, and B cells, which mature in the bone marrow. We then showed that these two cell types play different, but equally important roles: T cells stimulate B cells to produce antibodies which can protect against infection,” Professor Miller said.

“Individual T and B cells are hardwired to respond to a single, specific germ. During an infection, these cells activate and multiply to fight the infection. A subset of these T cells and B cells are then retained to ‘remember’ the invader and impart long-lasting immunity to future attacks.”


Impacting medical advances

Animation still showing immune cells


Lymphocytes are critical cells in our immune system.
Professor Miller’s research distinguished two key types
of lymphocytes, B cells and T cells.
Still from WEHI-TV animation ‘Fighting infection by Clonal Infection’. 

Walter and Eliza Hall Institute director Professor Doug Hilton AO said Professor Miller was a very deserving winner of the Lasker Award.

“Distinguishing T and B cells was a truly groundbreaking discovery. The consequences of the research touch on a broad swathe of medical research today and much of the Institute’s ongoing research can be traced back to Jacques’ work,” Professor Hilton said.

“B and T cells are critical for immune responses to infection and drive many aspects of inflammatory diseases and inflammation linked to neurodegenerative disorders. Lymphoma, myeloma and lymphocytic leukaemias are all cancers of B and T cells; and T cells are at the heart of many immunotherapies that have had such success in treating cancers.

“It is fantastic to see Jacques recognised for his scientific achievement – which is just one highlight from his impressive career.

“Although Jacques officially retired in 1996, he is frequently seen at the Institute, contributing to current research projects and generously mentoring our researchers,” Professor Hilton said.

Recognising scientific achievement

Professor Miller’s numerous national and international awards include the Japan Prize (2018), the Australian Prime Minister’s Prize for Science (2003), the Royal Society of London Copley Medal (2001), the Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize (1974) and the Gairdner Foundation International Award (1966).

Black and white image of four men talking


Professor Miller (standing) in 1983 with (from left) Professor
Donald Metcalf (Lasker Awardee 1993), then Institute director
Sir Gustav Nossal, and Sir Frank MacFarlane Burnet (Lasker
Awardee 1952).

Past Australian Lasker awardees include Institute alumni Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet (1952), Professor Donald Metcalf (1993) and Sir Marc Feldmann (2003).

The Lasker Awards, sometimes referred to as ‘America’s Nobels’, are funded by the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation. Professor Miller and Professor Cooper share an honorarium of $US250,000.



Media enquiries

M: +61 475 751 811 
E: communityrelations@wehi.edu.au


Related topics
Key Researchers
Prof Jacques Miller
Honorary Research Fellow
Media Enquiries
WEHI Authors
Prof Jacques Miller
Honorary Research Fellow
Support us

Together we can create a brighter future

Your support will help WEHI’s researchers make discoveries and find treatments to ensure healthier, longer lives for you and your loved ones.

Sign up to our quarterly newsletter Illuminate

Find out about recent discoveries, community supporters and more.

Illuminate Winter 2024
View the current issue