Celebrating excellence

01 December 2020
Related topics
Sections in this article

In November, WEHI was proud to award its highest honour, the Burnet Prize, to malaria researcher Dr Rhea Longley and immunology researcher Dr Cyril Seillet.

We would also like to acknowledge Professor Andrew Roberts am, who was jointly awarded the Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence, along with his Peter Mac colleague Professor John Seymour, for their work on new anticancer agents.

Professor Roberts also became a Member of the Order of Australia and a Fellow of the Academy of Sciences in 2020.

Professor Melanie Bahlo was elected to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences, in recognition of her contributions to improving bioinformatics analyses of complex genetic diseases including epilepsy, ataxia and retinal disorders.

Professor Gordon Smyth and Associate Professor Seth Masters were named as Clarivate Web of Science Highly Cited Researchers for 2020.

Professor Smyth also received the Australian Computational Biology and Bioinformatics Society’s highest honour, an Honorary Senior Fellowship, while fellow bioinformatics researcher Associate Professor Matthew Ritchie received the society’s Open Science Open Source Award.

Congratulations to all our scientists who have recently received national and international awards.

Support us

Together we can create a brighter future

Your support will help WEHI’s researchers make discoveries and find treatments to ensure healthier, longer lives for you and your loved ones.

Sign up to our quarterly newsletter Illuminate

Find out about recent discoveries, community supporters and more.

Illuminate Winter 2024
View the current issue